Jordan Sugar ’17 welcomes his daughter Ellie

Congratulations to Jordan Sugar ’17, Project Manager at Southern California Edison, and his wife on the arrival of their beautiful baby girl! In Jordan’s own words:

20150605 Jordan Sugar 17-1 with and daughter Ellie

Hi Dylan,

My apologies for the delay in getting back to you! These past few weeks have been a whirlwind of joy, classes, and group projects and I’m afraid I fell quite behind on emails. I’m not sure if this is too late to share but as a proud dad and delighted husband I am happy to send it your way!

Mrs. Jordan and I are thrilled to welcome our daughter, Elliana “Ellie” Grace Sugar to the world! She was born at UCLA Ronald Reagan on 5/7 at 1 pm, weighing 7 lbs 15 ounces and a lovely 20 3/4 inches.

20150605 Jordan Sugar 17-3 daughter Ellie

We actually had quite a fun UCLA filled experience bringing her here. My wife works at Ronald Reagan as an oncology nurse on the 6th floor, and we delivered with the midwives (AMAZING experience) on the 5th floor. Contractions began on Tuesday morning at 1 am and lasted for over two days. In between I had a take home midterm for finance to do before 9 am on Wednesday, so on Wednesday morning at 2 am I took turns helping my wife through contractions and then answering midterm questions 🙂

A little after midnight on Thursday we left our UCLA apartment in University Village and drove to the hospital. After laboring at home for all those hours my wife was 7 centimeters and we were admitted right away! The experience with the midwives and the rest of the hospital staff was incredible and about 12 hours later our baby was born. Mrs Jordan was able to deliver naturally without an epidural and she did beautifully!

We stayed in the hospital for a few nights and then took Ellie home. In the following days we took her everywhere: costco, the beach, the library, and even my marketing class at Anderson, where I got to present her to my class before giving her to my wife to take home.

20150605 Jordan Sugar 17-2 daughter Ellie

Everyone is doing great and we are just feeling incredibly blessed. I am so grateful for all the support and encouragement I’ve received from my professors and classmates. We truly feel like part of the UCLA family.

Best,

Jordan

Leave a Reply

